cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Highlighted
Contributor ○

acamus' Investment Strategy

The purpose of this post is to answer two questions on the September Holdings thread.

I began this investment strategy in 2015, shortly after I quit my last job in Silicon Valley. Prior to this career change, I had been investing in CEFs for several years but not full time, more long-term investing than trading. I had not figured out the whole strategy when I started and it evolved as I learned. I continue to learn. This is just a summary, not a "how to."

Goals

My goal is high absolute risk adjusted returns. Maybe 10% annually, on average. I try to minimize taxes but not at the expense of returns. Aside from taxes, I don't care how my returns are broken down into income and capital gains. My investing returns must cover all of my personal expenses but my portfolio turnover is high enough that sales proceeds easily cover those expenses so I am indifferent towards dividends and yield.

I don't care about the volatility of individual investments, only the volatility of my portfolio as a whole. The reason I care about volatility is because I view volatility as opportunity cost. When markets swoon, if one's portfolio swoons as much as the market, much of the opportunity to take advantage is lost. That's why I pay so much attention to risk adjusted returns, volatility, Sharpe ratios, etc.

Asset Allocation

Diversification is the bread and butter of increasing risk adjusted returns.

I invest more in fixed income funds than stock funds. I think a small allocation to stocks is a good diversifier for fixed income.

After accounting for leverage, both CEF leverage and any personal margin debt, my asset allocation might be about 30-50% stocks and 60%-100% fixed income. I sometimes sell ETFs short or purchase put options to adjust my asset allocation. When you see those in my portfolio, they're hedges; I'm not using them to bet against the market.