cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Highlighted
Contributor ○○○

Re: Bond OEF Investing for More Conservative Investors

Gary, interesting discussion on what to use for risk assessment of fund discussions.  It will be interesting to see how each investor chooses to measure that going forward.  It will be interesting to see how much peak to trough losses, in 2020 for each fund, will influence what investors will use going forward.  If you are a buy and holder, you just sit back and watch, hopefully to see a rebound to recoup your losses.  If you are a trader, there will be an array of factors to consider in putting your cash to work in future investments.  I think I fall somewhere in between, "wanting to buy and hold" as long as possible, but I will turn into a cautious and slow trader when I view it as necessary.  I have to figure out what I am going to do with my accumulated cash, considering that I am not good at trading, but being very risk averse in my fund selections.  

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Valued Contributor

Derivative losses tend to be permanent - losses gone to money heaven. Recovery may take years in bond land - it is different for equities. Funds that used derivatives in past may stop using them going forward. Some funds may be merged away. Newer funds may be launched that won't have 2020 in their records, just as it happened after 2008-09, and M* would feature them as up & coming funds. Posters would soon start saying don't keep looking at 2020 forever - just as they said for 2008-09. 

M* SD based on monthly returns cannot catch what is going on now - monthly sampling cannot detect things that happen/happened in shorter timeframes. But one can easily switch to 15-yr tab in old M* SD area [tricks are available for this] to see how the funds that existed then were impacted by events then.

YBB
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor ○○○

Just a couple of thoughts that seem to relevant for this thread: